Useful links

There are so many links in all the social studies that it is overwhelming. This first publication of links is not extensively annotated. It is subdivided by the major disciplines of social studies. Many thanks are due Dr. Peg Hill for her extensive research in finding these websites. The Religious Studies and First Amendment websites came from her work with the California 3Rs Project. Thank you also to the Inland Empire Council for the Social Studies for first posting these links.

Geography
California Geographic Alliance http://www.humboldt.edu/cga/
CIA World Factbook https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/docs/profileguide.html
Environmental Education Curriculum http://californiaeei.org/
Find Your Way Through Trade http://www.oxfam.org.uk/education/resources/find_your_way_through_trade/
Physical Environment:   An Introduction to Physical Geography http://earthonlinemedia.com/ebooks/tpe_3e/
National Geographic Education http://nationalgeographic.org/education
Xpeditions Archive http://nationalgeographic.org/search/?q=Xpeditions+Archive National Geographic has several different links that are difficult to categorize, but would work well for students.
A Year of Reading the World http://ayearofreadingtheworld.com/  A blog was inspired byAnne Morgan's year-long journey through a book from every country in the world, which I recorded on this blog. Here is a list of them.
American History
Slavery by Another Name http://www.pbs.org/tpt/slavery-by-another-name/watch/
CRF Lessons about American Presidents http://www.crf-usa.org/presidents-day/presidents-day.html
CRF Lessons on U.S. History Topics http://www.crf-usa.org/bill-of-rights-in-action/bill-of-rights-

in-action-archives-united-states-history.html

National History Education Clearinghouse teachinghistory.org
Historical Thinking Matters http://historicalthinkingmatters.org/
Reading Like a Historian Lessons http://sheg.stanford.edu/?q=node/21
Smithsonian History Explorer https://historyexplorer.si.edu/
National Archives Teacher Resources http://www.archives.gov/education/
Lessons - National Museum of the American Indian http://nmai.si.edu/explore/foreducatorsstudents/classroomlessons/
Presidential Libraries - National Archives http://www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/about/
History - History by Era http://www.gilderlehrman.org/institute/era_founding.php
History Matters - US History Survey Course http://historymatters.gmu.edu/
History Lessons Using First Day Covers http://www.fdclessons.com/
Political Cartoons http://nieonline.com/aaec/cftc.cfm#
Primary Source Blog http://jgburdette.wordpress.com/  seldom told stories with primary sources.
California History
E-Reference Desk http://www.e-referencedesk.com/resources/state-history/california.html  overview of CA history
California Historical Society http://www.californiahistoricalsociety.org/
Library of Congress http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/cbhtml/cbintro.html a topical overview with paragraphs about each of 16 topics from the geography, first peoples to the turn of the century in CA.
Info Please http://www.infoplease.com/ce6/us/A0857128.html a topical narrative   encyclopedia with links in each paragraph
World History
CRF Lessons on World   History Topics http://www.crf-usa.org/bill-of-rights-in-action/bill-of-rights-in-action-archives-world-history.html
Big History Project http://www.bighistoryproject.com/
World History for Us All http://worldhistoryforusall.sdsu.edu/
Asia Society http://kids.asiasociety.org/
Asia for Educators http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/index.html
Explore Byzantium http://byzantium.seashell.net.nz/index.php
Hyperhistory http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/History_n2/a.html
Internet Modern History Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.asp
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/Halsall/ancient/asbook.asp
Internet Medieval   Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/Halsall/sbook.asp
Early Modern Europe History Websites http://www.besthistorysites.net/index.php/early-modern-europe
General History
American Institute for History Education http://americaninstituteforhistory.org/   high-quality professional development programs, firmly anchored in rich historical content, along with substantive historical lessons, activities, and resources to use in their classrooms.
Discovery Education http://www.discoveryeducation.com/  This is a recommended site for video clips.
California History Project http://csmp.ucop.edu/chssp   Building Literacy Through History, Civil War Blueprints
Eyewitness to History http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/   Ancient history to modern days a place primary sources, video clips, and   photos, as well as background information
History Buff http://www.historybuff.com/   primary source newspaper articles
Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/index.html   collections of primary source materials and lesson plans
Mr. Donn Social Studies http://www.mrdonn.org/   simple power point presentations, lesson plans and games on most topics from ancient history to modern times.
PowerPoint Palooza http://www.pptpalooza.net/   - well-developed power point presentations with primary sources, photos, maps, and timelines  - high school AP, student projects, and other teacher's materials.
Smithsonian http://www.si.edu/   gateway to the Smithsonian educational resources for teachers and students
Teaching History http://teachinghistory.org/   - National History Educational Clearinghouse speeches, content, photographs
Civic Education
Center for Civic Education http://new.civiced.org/   - We the People and the Constitution Program, Project Citizen Programs
Constitutional Rights   Foundation - http://crf-usa.org/   Civics, Law and Government Programs including Mock Trial, City Youth, and City   Works Programs
Bill of Rights Institute http://billofrightsinstitute.org/   ConstitutionalAcademy, contests
Annenberg Classroom Resources for Excellent Civic Education http://www.annenbergclassroom.org/   games, videos, ibooks, Constitution guides and much more for teachers and   students to access
Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues http://www.procon.org/   classroom appropriate arguments from both sides of 43 controversial issues related   to public policy
Dirkson Center http://www.dirksencenter.org/print_teaching_intro.htm teaching about Congress
iCivics Curriculum Finder http://www.icivics.org/teachers
EL Civics Resources http://www.elcivics.com/civics.html
National Service Learning Clearinghouse http://www.servicelearning.org/
Congress https://www.congress.gov/
Religious Studies and   First Amendment Rights
Anti-Defamation League http://www.adl.org/   - Prop 48 Materials
Facing History and Ourselves http://www.facing.org/   helps students understand how human behavior plays a critical role in shaping history.
First Amendment Center http://www.firstamendmentcenter.org/   - curriculum for religious history in America, the book Finding Common   Ground is online - a foremost resource for negotiating peace in communities where controversial issues tear people apart.
California 3Rs Project http://ca3rsproject.org/   - helps district and site administrators with hot topics for public schools   related to religious liberty such as SB48, Bullying, the Bible and public   schools, and religious holidays
Teaching Tolerance http://www.tolerance.org/   - a program that works to foster inclusive and nurturing classrooms
Newseum's Religious Freedom Project http://www.religiousfreedomeducation.org/   find the latest religious liberty news and programs on current hot topics
American Academy of Religions http://www.aarweb.org/   has a scholarly, but readable booklet which provides guidelines and examples   of how to teacher about religion in public schools
Harvard University Pluralism Project World Religions in America http://pluralism.org/   a decade-long research project to engage students in studying diverse   religions in the United States
Religion and Public Education Resource Center http://www.csuchico.edu/rperc/index.shtml   general information about ethical, legal, and educational issues that arise   in public education
Religion and Ethics Newsweekly http://www.pbs.org/wnet/religionandethics/   complete resource of interviews on religiously related topics
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life http://www.pewforum.org/   conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on   important aspects of religion and public life
Americans for Religious Liberty http://www.arlinc.org/   a voice for separation of church and state
Teaching About Religion http://www.teachingaboutreligion.org/   provides background information and classroom materials for teaching about   religion in public schools that reflect neutrality regarding religion
Religious Freedom Page http://religiousfreedom.lib.virginia.edu/   links to religious liberty related court decisions and primary sources
U.S. Department of Justice http://www.justice.gov/   information about laws protecting religious liberty and examples of types of  Civil Rights Division cases
First Freedom Center http://www.firstfreedom.org/   advance fundamental human rights of freedom of religion and freedom of   conscience using primary documents, lesson plans, and student competition
National School Boards Association http://www.nsba.org/   links to First Amendment rights issues such as prayer, religious instruction,   religious garb, religious observations, and religious displays, and claims   under the federal Equal Access Act
Education for Freedom   newseuminstitute.org/freedom-forum  lessons that address constitutional principles and contemporary issues   involving the First Amendment
Exploring Constitutional Law http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/conlaw/home.html   primarily for law students exploring capstone issues and controversial cases related to the First Amendment
George Washington Institute for Religious Freedom http://www.gwirf.org/   teacher lesson resources on George Washington's Letter to the Touro Synagogue   in Rhode Island   as well as other religious liberty documents
Religious Tolerance http://www.religioustolerance.org/   provides a study of the world's religions with scholarly articles on world religions
Economics
CA Council for Economic Education http://www.ccee.org/economics-resources/
EconEdLink: Economics   & Personal Finance Resources K-12 http://www.econedlink.org/
Online Personal Finance Games http://www.genirevolution.org/
Financial Fitness for Life http://fffl.councilforeconed.org/
Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia - Lesson Plans

 One Main Lending

http://www.phil.frb.org/education

 

https://www.onemainfinancial.com/teachers-guide-to-currency-around-the-world

Holidays
Black History Month http://www.nea.org/tools/lessons/black-history-month.htm, http://www.pbs.org/newshour/extra/2015/01/black-history-month-resources-for-the-classroom/ http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/educators/resource_library/african_american_resources.html,  http://www.edutopia.org/blog/black-history-month-teaching-resources-matthew-davis
Presidents DayCenter for Civic Education's Presidents Day Page http://new.civiced.org/resources/curriculum/presidents-day
Constitution Day   & Citizenship DayCenter for Civic Education http://new.civiced.org/resources/curriculum/constitution-day-and-citizenship-day
Women's History Month http://www.nea.org/tools/lessons/womens-history-month.html, http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/collection/womens-history-month-collection-teaching-resources, http://womenshistorymonth.gov/teachers.html, http://www.edutopia.org/blog/womens-history-month-lesson-plans-matt-davis
General
CA History-Social Science Course Models http://www.history.ctaponline.org/
SCORE H-SS http://score.rims.k12.ca.us/
CLRN - California Learning Resources Network http://www.clrn.org/hss/
National Council for the Social Studies http://www.ncss.org/ national professional organization advocating for history-social science teachers
California Council for the Social Studies http://www.ccss.org/ CA state professional organization advocating for history-social science teachers
Merlot - Humanities and Social Science http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm multi-media resources for learning and online education
Newseum http://www.newseum.org/
Teaching with the News http://www.choices.edu/resources/current.php
Student Events- Common Core Project Based Learning Experiences
National History Day http://www.nhd.org/   A year-long academic program focused on historical research for 6-12 graders
National History Day California http://www.nhdca.org/  A year-long academic program focused on historical research for 4-12 graders
Mock Trial Program http://www.crf-usa.org/mock-trial-program/
First Amendment Cartoon Contest http://www.courtsed.org/cartoon_contest.htm
National Economics Challenge http://www.councilforeconed.org/events/national-economics-challenge/
We the People - Citizen and the Constitution http://new.civiced.org/wtp-the-program
We the People: Project Citizen http://www.civiced.org/index.php?page=introduction